2013 Environmental Leader Awards

At the Iowa State Fair this year, the Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards Program was held on Thursday, Aug. 15, at the Penningroth Center. This is the second year of the awards that honor farmers who are exemplary in volunteer actions to improve or protect the environment and natural resources. There were 62 farm families recognized this year for their efforts, including nine of Iowa Learning Farms farmer partners. Honored farmer partners not pictured include Nathan and Sarah Anderson, Cherokee; Arliss and Jacqueline Nielson, Woolstock; Sam and Julie Spellman, Woodward.

Pictured with the families (left to right): Macenzie Rubin, Monsanto; Chuck Gipp, Iowa DNR director; Bill Northey, Iowa Secretary of Ag; Gov. Terry Branstad; and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds.


Fred and Vicki Abels, Grundy County


Georgia and Jerry Crew, Clay County


Jon and Ardi Gisleson, Floyd County


Rober and Linda Lynch; Jay and Emily Lynch
Humboldt County


Dean Tiefenthaler, Carroll and Sac Counties


Mark and Jeri Mueller; Howard and Fran Mueller, Bremer County

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s