Second Year Perspectives: Back for Round II

NOTE: You’ve been meeting our great group of college interns through their guest blog posts these past couple weeks, but it’s time now that we show some love to our outstanding high school interns, as well!  Kicking things off is Jessica Rehmann, a 2016 Ames High School graduate who is back for her second year in the high school water resources internship program.

My name is Jessica Rehmann, and I have come back to intern with Water Rocks! and Iowa Learning Farms for a second year. I just graduated from Ames High School, and I will be a freshman at Washington University in St. Louis in the fall.

MeetTheInterns-JessicaLast year, I enjoyed my experience with the internship, and I appreciated the variety of tasks, including field research and outreach. I learned a lot about conservation practices and farming methods, and I saw them in use when I worked in the fields collecting data for research. At outreach events, I learned how to effectively communicate field research results and conservation practices to the public.

Soybeans flowering in the field, June 2016

Soybeans flowering in the field, June 2016

Because I have grown up in a suburban environment, I had little prior knowledge of anything related to farming before the internship. Now I can have educated discussions on conservation practices. I decided to do the internship again this year because I wanted to continue working on research projects from last year, doing more outreach with the community, and learning more about conservation and sustainable farming practices.

As I did last year, I have counted earthworm middens in the fields. This year the counting was easier and faster because I knew better what I was looking for in each plot!

Counting earthworm middens in cover crop strips at the ISU Boyd Farm earlier in June.

Counting earthworm middens in cover crop strips at the ISU Boyd Farm earlier in June.

I have also collected water samples from lysimeters in the field. The last time I went, the field had just had a large rainfall, so the lysimeters were very full. I am excited to learn how to analyze data from the lysimeters.

Jessica-05-06-combined

Tools of the trade for collecting water samples from the suction lysimeters.

 

The internship has also involved two of the extracurricular activities I enjoy the most: music and art. Last year, one of my favorite parts of the internship was getting to play saxophone in the recording studio for two of the tracks on the new children’s music CD Trees, Bees, and More Nature Songs for Water Rocks! I liked the opportunity to tie my work and music together. I also saw how an analog recording studio works, which was a neat experience.

Jessica-07f

Recording at Junior’s Motel Recording Studio, near Otho, last year.

This year, I have a new creative side to the internship: I am helping to redesign the website for the Conservation Pack and helping to write an interactive “Letters to the Conservation Pack” activity for kids.

I am also excited for the fair season to reach full swing! My first event was recently working in the Keosauqua Farmers Market, and in the upcoming weeks, I will attend more county fairs.

Jessica-08-09-combined

Leading the hands-on Enviroscape activity (aka Watershed Game) at the Dallas Co. Fair last summer (TOP) and the Keosauqua Farmers Market this year (BOTTOM).

My experiences with this internship and my love of hiking and the outdoors have made me want to study environmental science in college. In the fall I will be taking a class on Missouri’s natural heritage, which will cover environmental science and more. Because sustainable practices are important and relevant–especially in the Midwest–I am interested in their technical foundations and the social and political aspects of implementing them. I am excited to see where the rest of the internship this summer will take me!

Jessica Rehmann