A New Way to Birdwatch

People talk about signs of getting older: sore joints, enjoying grocery shopping, and even birdwatching. But if I use an app to help, does that still mean birdwatching equates to a new stage in my life?

I first learned about the Merlin Bird ID app when I started with Iowa Learning Farms and thought, “Cool! I should check that out at some point.” I never used it until this last spring when I kept hearing a bird outside of my apartment, hear being the operative word because I couldn’t see it. After a few days of the elusive bird taunting me every time I went outside, I used Merlin and found out the bird was a Northern Cardinal. I finally had my answer!

How does the app work? You can identify birds by picture (Photo ID), or my favorite, by sound (Sound ID). Both options work offline, but make sure you first download the birds in your geographical region before going exploring. Another way to identify birds in case you don’t have your phone on you, is by later answering 3 questions in the Step by Step option. Merlin will generate a list of possible birds based on your answers and location.

Not only do you get confirmation on the bird you see or hear, but you can learn more! The calls they make, their range, and a short bio is also provided for each bird.

Multiple pictures of each bird are also available, which is especially helpful in the case of cardinals as juveniles and females are not the bright red I was used to seeing.

Identifying by sound is the option I use the most, because the app can pick up all birds in the area for however long you are recording. So far, the most I have recorded in one sitting is 7 birds. I was at a park in Pottawattamie County and in just 30 seconds I heard an American Robin, an American Goldfinch, a Common Yellowthroat, an Orchard Oriole, a Baltimore Oriole, a Blue-gray Gnatcatcher, and a Yellow Warbler.

What have I gained from birdwatching? Obviously, I learned a lot about birds, but also, I gained a love for a new hobby. If you want to learn more about birds in your backyard, local park, or you’re exploring a new spot, I highly recommend downloading Merlin.

Merlin Bird ID was developed by Cornell Lab of Ornithology with the help of many bird enthusiasts.

Alena Whitaker

Leave a comment